top of page

A Pole Vaulter’s Perspective

Although the Yarmouth Pole Vault program consists of less than 10 total vaulters, it is a program that genuinely touches the lives of those who participate. It breeds determination, self-confidence, and most importantly, friendships.


Allowing students to choose and participate in sports they would not have tried is a blessing that we are fortunate to have here at Yarmouth. Many in our community can attest to the amount of self-confidence and satisfaction that comes with becoming better at a sport (or something that you love). This notion is evident from my personal experience. In my youth, I played soccer, basketball, and baseball. I often wondered why I continued playing those sports when other activities, such as golf, boy scouts, skiing, and rowing, looked more appealing. I quickly learned that the financial cost and time commitment from my parents led them to push those extracurriculars away. When I reached high school, with the addition of the pandemic, I felt as though my quiet, introverted nature was amplified—pushing me away from others. That was until I pulled some dusty-looking sticks out of the shed during my freshman year of Outdoor Track. Without our notable Alumni, Chris Koskinen (class of 2020), our pole vault program had been effectively canceled, its pieces scattered in disarray. As I continued to try to surpass the opening height for two years (four sports seasons), I became friends with students from other school districts. While “vaulting” together, we learned to cope with being uncomfortable in the presence of fear. And although we encourage each other to push for higher and higher heights, it's really just a laid-back group with a “no-judge” mentality. Over the course of seven track seasons, I have gone from not being able to get off the ground to jumping a whopping 11’6” over the summer!


I really appreciate the Freeport Track team and the copious amount of advice I have received from numerous individuals in the Maine pole vaulting community (including Chris Koskinen). In the summer, I practiced with the Freeport pole vaulters twice a week, an experience that has taught me how to vault correctly with minimal risk of injuring myself. In addition, I now pole vault with Patriot Pole Vaulting Club on Sundays at USM. With support, equipment, and the ability to practice, I improved my personal record in outdoor of 9’ by 2 ½ feet!


To explain it in a concise manner, pole vaulting is just a fancy physics problem. A slight difference in acceleration, speed, and/or velocity makes the difference between making the jump or getting a nasty track burn. Moreover, the length, weight rating, and material of the pole that you use change the dynamics of the vault. Another way of thinking about it is picturing the steps like a line of dominos. Any error in a step will throw off where, how, and even if the rest of the dominos will fall. Therefore, pole vaulting is very much a form-based sport, although upper-body strength does come in handy in a pinch. Here are some photos that picture the steps in a digestible manner.



Courtesy of Chris Koskinen


My favorite part of pole vaulting is the feeling of weightlessness that occurs in the “swing phase”, as well as in the “invert phase.” Although my “invert phase” still needs a lot of work, the feeling of weightlessness is amplified in the “invert phase” because all of the energy stored in the pole “throws” me higher into the air.


I dedicate a good chunk of my life to pole vaulting and have benefited tremendously from the experience. In the midst of stressful, sometimes dark days or weeks, it is comforting to know that if I just make it through the week I can pound my frustration into the runway and truly be free, upside down, eleven feet in the air. I am a prime example of how a forgotten/disbanded program can make a difference in student well-being, but also a shadow of unfilled potential.


(*Post-States update: Colby Ting is now ranked 3rd in the State for Class-B Pole Vaulting and 6th overall in the state (4-way tie)*)


If you want to learn more about pole vaulting feel free to email or talk to me in person, whatever is easiest for you.


Courtesy of Colby Ting








bottom of page