top of page

Yarmouth Fashion Week

Lights, camera, fashion. SwaggyMaggie is back with some new and (possibly controversial) takes on fashion–and life. If you’ve seen me around school the last couple of months, you might be wondering how I have any basis to make claims about what is fashionable and what is not. To that I say: The senior slide is real, and I won’t allow it to diminish my love of fashion. In honor of senior season, I will be sharing my best tips for how to stay comfortable (and warm) in the school this year, while also maintaining some level of pride. For the first order of business, we have to address the frozen elephant in the room: Mr Hontz’s classroom (nothing against you if you’re reading this Mr. Hontz). For those of you who haven’t had a class in room D209, you know that the temperature is consistently kept at sub-arctic temperatures. For this reason, I recommend bringing at least a parka and mittens to school in order to avoid imminent frostbite. The second piece of advice I’d recommend is this: Get a good pair of slippers (that can go with most of your outfits) to wear to school. This tip is specifically for those of us who can’t force themselves to get out of bed until the last minute, and as a result don’t have time to tie shoes when going out the door in the morning. On these days, having a pair of UGG TazzlitaTM platform slippers provides a more acceptable (but still a little bit hoboe-y) option, while also making your morning routine a minute faster. 

This is less of a clothing tip, but something that will hopefully draw attention away from clothing choices. For those of you who don’t have their ears pierced, you can skip a couple of lines When I was first going into high school, my older sister gave me some advice. She told me, “If you’re wearing a boring/bad outfit, try to wear earrings to attempt to distract from your clothing choices, because it will make you look a little bit more put together”. While this may not necessarily be true, I still adhere to this rule, and the honest truth is that because we live in America (land of the free and home of the brave) we have the right to wear whatever we want (including pajamas and ugg slippers) in public, without being criticized too much. This point brings me to the next piece of advice that my sister shared with me, which is: “If you’re feeling low, don’t show up to school in pajamas/your outfit that’s not as nice”. This may seem counterintuitive, but since I’ve been in high school I’ve started to agree with her more and more. Personally, when I wear something that’s more comfortable in school (but that I can recognize isn’t a nice outfit) I feel less confident, and it increases my state of being low/sad. Additionally, when my friends see me, they can tell that I’m not feeling great, and I don’t like alluding to my bad mood with my outward appearance (but that’s just me). Okay, this article is much different than my “Fashion in’s and out’s” from last year, but I think that because it’s my last year at YHS I don’t really care as much what people wear, and I’m kind of checked out in general. With that being said, I was going to share what I dislike in fashion trends, but I truly don’t have much to say about what others choose to call “fashion” (even though some of it definitely isn’t). This is not Euphoria High School, and people certainly aren’t showing up to school to do a fashion show, so I don’t think it really matters. However, since Spirit Week is coming up (and it really is a fashion week in its own right for those who participate) the best advice I can give underclassmen, and specifically freshmen, is: don’t try to be cool by not dressing up, the fun of spirit week only happens if everyone gets super into it. I think that’s all I have to say about fashion. Honestly, I always love seeing people try new outfits and interesting styles at school, so if you do want to venture crazy outfits at school, most people won’t wrong you for it, but if you also don’t care about fashion and just want to roll out of bed and come to school, most people also won’t judge you for that. Have fun, dress warm, and go crazy for spirit week.

bottom of page